top of page

National Transport Trust Awards

The National Transport Trust held its 2023 awards ceremony at Fawley Hill on September 18th. 
Fawley Museum was again chosen as the venue for the 2023 National Transport Trust Awards on 18th September and we were delighted to be able to welcome HRH The Princess Royal to present the awards as Patron of the Trust together with Judy, Lady McAlpine, the NTT President. 


DSC_0767 edited.jpg
DSC_0792 edited.jpg

The Princess meeting the steam locomotive drivers

The Princess is introduced to a visiting Suffolk Punch, a breed of heavy horse.  The horse is pulling a railway wagon restored by Ian Cryer, who won a Sir William McAlpine award

After the presentation, Her Royal Highness was conducted around the museum and enjoyed a ride to Bourne Again Junction behind visiting Hudswell Clark 0-6-0ST locomotive No 88.  This locomotive has just completed a superb restoration and its owner, Stephen Middleton received one of the Sir William McAlpine Awards for the project. Details of National Transport Trust awards can be found on

HRH with award winners.jpg

The Princess Royal presents the Preservationist of the Year award to the Britten Norman Preservation Society for their restoration of Islander G-AVCN

After the formal presentation duties are done, Her Royal Highness enjoys a steam train ride hauled by one of the winning projects.

Edd China presented the National Transport Trust awards in 2022


A fine visiting Bentley stands in front of Shobnall Maltings Signal Box, as No 31 gently descends the hill. 

Daniel Abbott receives the Preservationist of the Year award for his Buffalo LVT project, with Stuart Wilkinson, Chairman of the Transport Trust, Edd China and Judy, Lady McAlpine, looking on.

Not a rail car!  Despite appearances this delightful Sunbeam is a road vehicle. 


A beautifully restored Fordson tractor was one of the visiting vehicles on display. 


And then there were two! Two of the six cars built to promote Outspan Oranges stand in front of the Museum.

NTT guests watch the awards ceremony in the Museum concourse.  Sadly many who wished to come were unable to because of the rail strike that day. 

The Oxford Bus Museum was given an award for the restoration of Oxford's first electric bus. 


In 2021 the National Transport Trust held its awards ceremony at Fawley Hill on October 20. 

P Anne photos no31MP.jpg

Royal by ascent!  HRH Princess Anne can't resist grabbing a photograph of our steam locomotive No 31 climbing the hill to Somersham station


NTT members gather in the Museum concourse in advance of the presentations


Fawley Museum Society volunteers and NTT members outside the Museum.  No 31 waits in the background. 

Princess Anne presents Max Shepherdson with his award for the restoration of a 1943 M26 Tank Transporter.


FMS stewards keep back the crowd as No 31 steams into action


Young Preservationist of the Year 2021 Jake Bullock with his superbly finished 1944 Jeep. 

Stuart Wilkinson, Chairman of the Transport Trust, welcomes NTT members flanked by HRH Princess Anne, Judy, Lady McAlpine and Paul Brook. .

The NTT Awards event was an excellent opportunity for the display of several vintage vehicles including a 1916 Pierce-Arrow Model R (below), and a Jaguar Mk II 3.8, a 1944 Jeep, a 1955 Land Rover and an Austin Healey 3000. 


All photographs are copyright of Fawley Museum and are not to be used without permission

bottom of page